Supermoon september 28 2015

Supermoon september 28 2015

Supermoon september 28 2015

There are many superlatives to describe the Supermoon September 28 2015 . It’s the biggest, closest and brightest supermoon of the year. In the Northern Hemisphere, this full moon enjoys the title of Harvest Moon. Last but hardly least, this supermoon will feature a total eclipse of the moon, visible on the night of September 27-28 from the Americas, the Atlantic, Greenland, Europe, Africa and the Middle East.

This post focuses on closest supermoon aspect of this fascinating, upcoming full moon. For eclipse info, look here.

The moon will reach the crest of its full phase on September 28, 2015 at 2:51 UTC. At North American’ time zones, the moon will turn full on September 27 at 11:51 p.m. ADT, 10:51 p.m. EDT, 9:51 p.m. CDT, 8:51 p.m. MDT, 7:51 p.m. PDT.

It’ll reach perigee – the moon’s closest point to Earth for this month – within an hour of that time. Thus it’s the closest full moon of the year, and appears largest (to extremely careful observers) and brightest in our sky. This happens to be the moon’s closest encounter with Earth for all of 2015, period. The moon won’t be so close to Earth again until the full moon of November 14, 2016.

We astronomers call this sort of close full moon a perigee full moon. The word perigeedescribes the moon’s closest point to Earth for any given month. Four years ago, when the closest and largest full moon fell on March 19, 2011, many used the term supermoon, which we’d never heard before. In the following years, we heard this term again to describe the year’s closest full moon on May 6, 2012, and again on June 23, 2013 and yet again on August 10, 2014.

Now the term supermoon is being used a lot. Last month’s full moon – on August 29, 2015 – was also a supermoon. But the September full moon is even more super! In other words, the time of full moon falls even closer to the time of the moon’s closest point to Earth.

What does supermoon mean exactly? And how special is the September 27-28, 2015 supermoon? Follow the links below to find out.

 

Article source: http://earthsky.org/tonight/most-super-supermoon-of-2015-on-september-28

 Photography: Daniele Fontana, all rights reserved.